Back to top

Book Review: Amari and the Night Brothers

Book Review: Amari and the Night Brothers

February 8, 2022

Amari Peters is a true magician. Nobody knows this, not even Amari. She is about to be sucked into a magical world that will show her true identity to a world she didn’t even know existed. B. B. Alston’s debut middle-grade novel is already a hot property, with a movie in the works and glowing reviews from the likes of Angie Thomas and Nic Stone.

Amari just lost her scholarship to a prestigious private school. Her brother, Quinton, is also missing. Things seem to be falling apart, until Amari discovers a secret message inviting her to a special camp that will unlock her full potential.

Amari discovers that Quinton is a major hero in the magical world, and has been working with Maria Van Helsing, descendant of the famed vampire hunter and slayer of Night Brother, Vladimir. Quinton and Van Helsing, known together as VanQuish, have imprisoned another Night Brother, Dr. Moreau. But it’s Moreau who might hold the truth of Amari’s brother’s disappearance. If Amari wants to find Quinton, she will have to come face to face with the most evil magician in all the world.

With breakneck pacing and real-world parallels (and a few mermaids, dwarves, yetis, and weredragons for good measure), this supernatural mystery will be perfect for fans of Harry Potter or A Wrinkle in Time. The sequel is set to be released April 2022.

Michael W.
Youth Services Department

View All Blogs

Read Similar Blogs:
Books and Reading

Resources You May Also Like

TumbleMath

Learn basic math concepts through animated stories.
More Info

NoveList K-8 Plus

Find new adventures and recommendations.
More Info

Book Review Digest Retrospective

Find reviews of children’s and adult books, 1908-1982.
More Info

Teachables

Print, save, and share resources for kids and students.
More Info

Events You May Also Like

Buzzworthy Books (Zoom)

Tue, May 7 2024
7:00pm - 8:00pm Central
Virtual Event
Are you interested in what’s new on the Library’s shelves? Join Reader Services Librarian Angie Strathman to hear about this season’s buzzworthy titles and authors. Registration required.

Blogs You May Also Like

Oscar Fever
Read More

Oscar Fever

This year marks the 94th Academy Awards, honoring the best in film with a wide selection of categories,
Romancing the Reader: August Is Read a Romance Month!
Read More

Romancing the Reader: August Is Read a Romance Month!

Romance is a billion-dollar industry with countless enthusiastic readers, passionate authors
MCPL’s Best Books of 2023
Read More

MCPL’s Best Books of 2023

It’s every reader’s favorite time of year.
Get Ready for Eating Season
Read More

Get Ready for Eating Season

Autumn may bring a chill to the air and color to the trees, but those aren’t the best parts

Was this page helpful? Yes No