Back to top

Book Review: Amari and the Night Brothers

Book Review: Amari and the Night Brothers

February 8, 2022

Amari Peters is a true magician. Nobody knows this, not even Amari. She is about to be sucked into a magical world that will show her true identity to a world she didn’t even know existed. B. B. Alston’s debut middle-grade novel is already a hot property, with a movie in the works and glowing reviews from the likes of Angie Thomas and Nic Stone.

Amari just lost her scholarship to a prestigious private school. Her brother, Quinton, is also missing. Things seem to be falling apart, until Amari discovers a secret message inviting her to a special camp that will unlock her full potential.

Amari discovers that Quinton is a major hero in the magical world, and has been working with Maria Van Helsing, descendant of the famed vampire hunter and slayer of Night Brother, Vladimir. Quinton and Van Helsing, known together as VanQuish, have imprisoned another Night Brother, Dr. Moreau. But it’s Moreau who might hold the truth of Amari’s brother’s disappearance. If Amari wants to find Quinton, she will have to come face to face with the most evil magician in all the world.

With breakneck pacing and real-world parallels (and a few mermaids, dwarves, yetis, and weredragons for good measure), this supernatural mystery will be perfect for fans of Harry Potter or A Wrinkle in Time. The sequel is set to be released April 2022.

Michael W.
Youth Services Department

Add new comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.

View All Blogs

Read Similar Blogs:
Books and Reading

Resources You May Also Like

WorldCat

Access the largest catalog of library materials.
More Info

Read It!

Find research support for English language learners.
More Info

TumbleMath

Learn basic math concepts through animated stories.
More Info

Blogs You May Also Like

Spooky Season: Hauntingly Good Reads
Read More

Spooky Season: Hauntingly Good Reads

Horror fiction has the power to ignite the imagination in terrifying and amazing ways.
From Dinosaurs to Elves: Why You Should Read Fantasy
Read More

From Dinosaurs to Elves: Why You Should Read Fantasy

I was obsessed with science as a kid.
Harry Potter 20th Anniversary
Read More

Harry Potter 20th Anniversary

November marks the 20th anniversary of the theatrical release of
Gone but Not Forgotten: Authors We Lost in 2020
Read More

Gone but Not Forgotten: Authors We Lost in 2020

2020 was a year of great loss for many, and the literary world was no exception.

Was this page helpful? Yes No