Close

All MCPL branches will closed on January 20, 2020, for Martin Luther King Jr. Day. Our virtual branch is available 24/7.

Menu

Landing Page Subnav

Back to top

Women's History Month

Programs for Women's History Month

Archiver: How History Sounded

Listen and discuss a podcast showcasing Kansas City regional stories as originally broadcast by KMBC radio in the mid-twentieth century.

Monday, March 9 | 7:00 p.m.
Woodneath Library Center

Monday, March 16 | 7:00 p.m.
North Independence

Tuesday, March 31 | 2:00 p.m.
Midwest Genealogy Center

Tragedy & Triumph: A Story of Hope

womenshistory-Mariela-Shaker.jpg

A performance and talk that will describe the journey of Mariela Shaker from Aleppo to the US, the hardship she endured and the success she achieved in the US.

Monday, February 24 | 2:00 p.m.
Midwest Genealogy Center

Monday, February 24 | 6:30 p.m.
Colbern Road

Tuesday, February 25 | 2:00 p.m.
Antioch

Tuesday, February 25 | 6:30 p.m.
Woodneath Library Center

Female Connections and Research Success

This session will explore how to review your records and discover female relatives from census, sacramental and court papers among others.

Monday, February 24 | 2:00 p.m.
North Oak

Monday, February 24 | 6:30 p.m.
Excelsior Springs

Wednesday, March 4 | 6:30 p.m.
Lee's Summit

Wednesday, March 11 | 6:30 p.m.
Midwest Genealogy Center

Tuesday, April 14 | 6:30 p.m.
Antioch
 

Women of the Battle of Westport

Women, although not in direct combat during the Battle of Westport, played significant roles in the event.

Thursday, March 19 | 2:00 p.m.
Midwest Genealogy Center

Wednesday, March 25 | 6:30 p.m.
Lee's Summit

Thursday, April 30 | 6:30 p.m.
Smithville

Amelia Earhart: The Woman Behind the Airplane

Sat, Mar 21 2020
10:30am - 11:30am
Registration Required
Discover the woman behind the adventurous aviatrix. Hear the stories of her childhood and learn about her firsts outside the cockpit. Discuss the theories surrounding her mysterious disappearance.

Research Women's History

Was this page helpful? Yes No